top of page

Surprising Setback

So I thought I was over the worst with this shoulder thing. The pain had gotten better, I was able to move around a bit and was proud of myself for following Dr’s instructions. 

On day 16 post fall, I got outta bed to use the restroom and brush my teeth. I was feeling tired so I decided to lay back down for a nap. When I got to the bed and laid back, something went pop in my shoulder and pain shot thru my shoulder and down my arm. The pain continued unrelentingly. I had a dr apt for a check up in the afternoon so I did my best to get comfortable thru the day. Impossible!  No medicine seemed to touch the pain and everytime I moved it popped with new waves of massive diacomfort. 

At the dr office they took an X-ray and found that the collarbone had dislocated. Seriously?!?  I knew something was wrong but was still in shock. I had done everything the dr said. I had come to a complete stop. I rested. I stayed inside in the recliner. 

Dr says don’t worry, we will fix you right up. And so new meds and surgery were arranged!  

Today is Day 4 post surgery. I am sore but the massive incredible waves of pain are gone. (Dr said that was the pain of the bone moving on top of bone). I am supposed to take it easy until I go back for a follow up apt. on Friday.  

I am doing okay. Trying not to have a pity party or worry about my life and my work and my livelihood. I am working on being grateful for each hour and each day. I am expecting a full recovery in time. 

Life is full of surprises!!

bottom of page