top of page

Mr. Bossy Pants

So as I have been laying around healing up my collarbone, I have wondered if PB misses me. I mean we have been together for hours a day everyday for the last several months. 

Yesterday I was feeling a bit better and took a walk down to the barn. When I saw PB I was thrilled!  He seemed happy enough to say hi. Then he headed over to his feed bucket. So silly me decided to go in his pasture to just spend some time together. He greeted me in a horse handshake and I stood by him, talking to him and offering to find an itchy spot. Then BAM!! He came around and bumped my good shoulder with firmness. POW I was snapped back into reality. As he walked away by feelings were hurt and I was sad. I walked over to see if I could ask him to back and NO! is what I got. 

Fortunately I came to my senses and left the pasture reminding myself not to take this exchange personally. And making myself get to a safe place as my collarbone is not yet ready for work. 

So what’s happened?  What did all that mean?  

A human perspective emotion would say he didn’t love me and the bite was him showing himself. Or some might say it was play. 

I say it is him being a horse. He is turned out in a group now where he has become the unchallenged leader. When I arrived he was happy to see me and greet me at the fence. But when I entered his space his first demand was I needed to move to his request just like everyone else in that space. When I went to ask him to back, that was my way of checking my theory, Is he just trying to make sure I understand the new herd order. 

I choose to leave when I did because I remembered I turned him out to have down time, to be a horse and because I was in no condition to have a discussion. 

So what’s next for Party Barn?  More turnout with a larger herd on bigger space. I am a big believer in horses being with lots of kinds of horses in a very large space. I am fortunate to have access to a 30 acre pasture with a varied terrain and a pond with usually 20+ horses. I call it public school playground time!! Lol!

Since I know myself and know that I am dying to work with him and my others, I have decided it or best to get them a little farther away and let them be doing something fun and interesting for them. 

I am excited to see how the dynamics go!  More to come on this!! 

bottom of page