top of page

Getting right with myself!

So I find myself a little more than a week away from the actual competition date and I am a mess! I am stressed and worried and overwhelmed and HOT! Why is it so hot on Sept. 27th!?! We have worked very hard to get ready for this competition and now I find myself second guessing all that I have done! Have I planned the right thing? Can I pull this off? Will the judges find my riding and training at all interesting or impressive? Who will I have to beat to win this thing? Who are my biggest competitors? Has investing all this time been worth it? What about all the business things I have let slip? Will I be able to get back into the swing with my clients or have the gone on to learn without me? My head has been spinning and all over the place!

I decided it was time to share! I have not kept up with this blog and I have not done a newsletter in months! I have been focused on helping one client at a time as I have increased my time I am devoting to PB. And now the competition is almost here! I have just set a dress rehearsal for less than 48 hours and I want to panic!

But something happened this afternoon. PB and I were hanging out and he was eating grass while I was doing a few things in the barn. (He often gets to wander the farm with a halter dragging a lead rope to help "trim the grass") I had gotten myself all worked up in my head about this competition. So many people have helped me and are going with me to make this happen! I have put crazy pressure on myself to try to WIN this! I have studied the competition and increased the wow factor and pushed myself until I am exhausted! While I was doing chores, it came to me....My focus is in the wrong place! I cannot focus on winning...that's so not the point here. I realized my focus needs to be showcasing this amazing partnership I have with the most amazing OTTB Party Barn! And just as I had this realization, PB comes around the corner into the barn (yes he left grass!) and walked right up to me and nuzzled me! It was strange as if he was quietly confirming that this shift in focus is needed! I need to get back to us! To that place were we are striving to be together in an amazing dance and partnership. And then he headed to get a bite of hay!

So I finished in the barn and came in to feed the dogs and sat down at the computer to cool off before I hit the shower. And what did I find on my news feed but these amazing drawings from one of my favorite artist, Molly Hahn! She calls them Budda Doodles! And is so needed them! I think I will have to make a collage and stare at it several times a day to keep me focused on the partnership with PB! Don't you just love them!!

bottom of page