top of page

Training horses

As the calendar turns a page, the reality of this competition heats up! I am pleased with where we are overall. At times I wish we were further along, but I am happy that he is healthy and become more emotionally confident and brave. I feel he is looking to me more and more for direction and for connection. He still has his moments of pure baby thoroughbred where he just can't keep his feet on the ground! In my book, he is still very very young!

I find myself wondering about these kinds of competitions and what it must be like for the horses overall. I have learned so much in working with Party Barn, but I find that if I didn't have this deadline of the competition, I would be working slower. What I wish for most is time to socialize him and give him true turnout time. Time to spend with other horses, to catch up on all that he missed of being a "kid" in year 2 and 3, when he was racing and other horses that age were just growing up out in the herd.

I have chosen not to put him out with others for fear of injury. I have been debating this decision and wondering if that would have helped him or just opened a can of buddy sour. I tell him daily that when this is over, he will get time with other horses and I will help him find his buddies in my herd of horses.

Enjoy this week's video! We are in week 3 of travel and find ourselves in Stone Ridge, NY. I have a few great friends in this area and have had a great time hanging out and teaching up here! And yes, it's still cool for me at times and I have been in sweatshirts! lol!

bottom of page