top of page

SHADE!!

Thanks to my great assistant Tiffany and the world's best farm helper Steve, we have some shade over our arena! It has been way too hot here and the arena get especially hot! We made a plan last year but never followed through! But this year, while I was off watching racing, the shade cloth was raised and it is wonderful! It adds about 20 feet of shade to the arena, allowing for an additional hour of work on super hot days!

It also is a great obstacle to ride under! Party Barn was hesitant at first. he didn't really like going under it for our ground work. It took him a session of ground work to get comfortable with it. Then he got curious! He began to look up, turning his head sideways. It made me laugh!! When I got on, I realized that the height wasn't quite high enough and I could reach it with my hand....so if you know me, I turned it into an opportunity to desensitize him to stuff above! He was awesome! You can see in the pic how he turned his head and looked up! I was laughing so hard I almost fell out of the saddle!

I feel so blessed and lucky as he is such a good boy! I am loving his increasing curiosity in all things and his willingness to give it a go in all kinds of new situations! Who knows what we will come up with next!!

bottom of page