top of page

First ride.


To me it looks like I am riding a giraffe!! But in fact it's Party Barn. After countless hours of ground work to build trust, calmness, and a somewhat soft feel, today was the day to get on! He was very calm and comfortable but knows virtually nothing in the "bridle". I am choosing not to go to a bit yet as I am working to keep the consistency between the ground work and saddle work in the feel of the rope halter. Which means I am riding in a sidepull. Which is a rope halter minus the knot under the chin plus a loop on each side where the reins attach.

He was sweet and curious and comfortable, but clueless to directives to his head asking for a soft bend. Lots and lots of work ahead of us, but I couldn't be happier with where we are!! He is a LOVE!!

Better pictures and more rides ahead!!

We will keep posting!!

Our Best, PB@J

Save

bottom of page