top of page

Retired Racehorse Project 2016


At Saratoga WarHorse (SWH) , we use off the track thoroughbreds in our work with the veterans. For more about Saratoga WarHorse, click here. For horses who were bred and trained for racing, they often don't know much about being a regular riding horse whether it is for pleasure, like trail riding, or performance riding like eventing, dressage, jumping, etc. In our partnership with Equine Rescue of Aiken (ERA) (click here for more on them) off the track thoroughbreds begin the transition process to becoming well rounded horses suitable for a variety of activities.

A new project for Saratoga WarHorse in 2016 was entering the Retired Racehorse Project (RRP). I was asked to help out at the event with a horse named Bodie that one of our Board Members was competing with in Eventing as an amateur. Basically I was the groom and sherpa! It was an amazing week of competition with over 300 TB's who all had amazing transformation for second careers! Many of my friends and colleagues in the industry were there and it looked like lots of fun. After some encouragement from a few friends, I decided that I would try my hand at this competition in 2017! Wish me luck!

bottom of page